Facebook #37 – Surfeit of Lampreys

I was so worried that one of the character whom I had grown to love was going to be the murderer.  As the family’s deception and attempts to “circle the wagons” fell apart, I began to fret for them.  However, Marsh tied up all the loose ends (like the Victorian novelists I have grown to love).  She even managed to save the Lamprey family from their own financial disaster.  However, my favorite part was probably all of the allusions sprinkled throughout the novel.  The Macbeth references become central to the plot and the ultimate solution of the murder; however, I love that Marsh sprinkled in Hamlet as well.  I knew that the Shakespearean allusions were key to the solution of the murder, but I couldn’t decide who was being reference.   Great tool and wonderful way to keep me guessing. 🙂

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment